Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center

Illinois Association of Realtors

  • Menu

Broker License

  • Minimum requirements to earn a real estate broker license in Illinois:
    • must be at least 21 years old
    • have a high school graduate diploma or G.E.D.
    • complete 90 hours of pre-license education and two course exams
      • Broker Pre-License Topics (75 hours) + exam
        Broker Pre-License Applied Real Estate Principles (15 hours) + exam
    • pass the state licensing exam
    • find a sponsoring managing broker to sponsor you so you may apply for a license
    • complete the licensing application and pay the licensing fee to IDFPR

Broker Pre-License Education

numbers_iar_education-01Step One: complete 90 hours of broker pre-license coursework and two course exams 

The two state-required pre-license courses are Broker Pre-License Topics (75-hour course) and Broker Pre-License Applied Real Estate Principles (15-hour interactive course). You must complete both courses and score at least 70% on each course exam to apply for an Illinois broker license. 

 Step two: pass the Illinois real estate licensing exam

After completing the required courses and passing both course exams, you may sit for the real estate licensing exam. The exam consists of 140 multiple choice questions pertaining to state and national real estate principles and laws. You will have 3.5 hours to complete the exam, and you must score at least 70% to pass.

AMP-candidate-handbook.PNGpsi/AMP (Applied Measurement Professionals) is the administrator of the Illinois real estate licensing exam. Before scheduling to take the state exam with psi/AMP, it is strongly advised that you thoroughly read and review the Illinois Real Estate Examination Program Candidate Handbook.

 Step three: apply for your license

You must be sponsored by a managing broker in order to apply for your license. When you have obtained a sponsor, submit your completed application and licensing fee to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR).

Illinois requires brokers to renew their license every 2 years on even-numbered years. To maintain your license, you will need to complete 30 hours of post-license training during your first license renewal period. See the Broker License Renewal page for details. We recoommend that you complete the post-license training requirements as soon as possible after becoming licensed to avoid rushing to meet the deadline.