Q. I renewed my license online and it does not show that I renewed. How do I know if it worked?
A. The online Licensee Lookup is updated daily. Any changes should appear the day after your renewal application has been processed. If you renew online and then immediately check the status, it will not appear updated until the application is processed which is typically within one to two business days and may vary depending on volume.
Q. Can I still practice real estate after the deadline if I have not completed all of the required CE and/or completed the renewal application and paid the fee to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation?
A. No. Contact the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation to learn your options: IDFPR 1-800-560-6420 or FPR.email@example.com.
Q. What is the penalty for renewing late?
A $50 late penalty is applied to renewals received after the deadline.
Q. If I have completed my CE, paid the fee and submitted the renewal form on or before the deadline but have not received the email to print my license, may I practice now?
A. Yes. Make sure you keep records of your CE, online renewal confirmation and payment for proof purposes in the case of an audit. Primary source verification and evidence that you are licensed can be obtained free of charge by visiting the IDFPR online Licensee Lookup database. You may print out a screen shot of your license number showing that it is active. If IDFPR does not have a current email address for you, please notify them immediately. Click here to change your email address.
Q. What should I look for in my email to confirm my license renewal?
A. The email notification will come from IDFPR Notification (FPR.firstname.lastname@example.org)
Q. What if I haven’t completed CE in time to meet the renewal deadline?
If you renew without completing the required CE you could face a penalty of up to $75 per 3 hour course, or $25 per credit hour, that you were deficient (e.g., deficient 3 hours, $75 penalty).
Q. I was required to take Post License courses for my first renewal and took CE in instead. What should I do?
A. If you already renewed it is likely that the Department will catch this in the audit. It would be best to go ahead and take the post license course work as soon as possible so that your records may be sent to the Department. You may still be fined up to $25 per credit hour, but it is always best to notify the department to avoid additional penalties. Unfortunately, the CE you have completed will not count for your next renewal cycle.
Q. What if I can’t find a course?
A. Broker Post-License Topics is available in home study. If no Broker Post-License Applied Real Estate Practices courses are available through any schools, you may have to hire a private instructor to teach the course.
Q. Since I already renewed, can I start taking my CE now for the next cycle?
A. No. You must wait until after the renewal deadline has passed or it will not count toward your next renewal cycle requirement.