Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center

Illinois Association of Realtors

  • Menu

Renewal

Quick Links: Broker | Managing broker | Leasing agent | Instructor

Know the deadline to renew your license

Illinois licensees must renew their license every two years with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR). During each two-year renewal cycle, a certain number of continuing education (CE) hours must be completed. The type and number of hours required for license renewal is determined by the license type and original date of licensure.

Renewal deadlines
Renewal date License
April 30, 2017 Managing broker renewal deadline
April 30, 2018 Broker renewal deadline
July 31, 2018 Leasing agent renewal deadline

CE courses help you maintain your license and stay current on ­topics such as ethics, agency, legal issues, license law, antitrust and finance. We make it convenient for you to fulfill your license renewal requirements with home study CE, online CE, and classroom CE at  50+ branch locations. You may also earn CE for renewal at certain Illinois REALTORS® events, such as the Illinois REALTORS® Conference & Expo and GRI Grad.


Broker renewal

Brokers are required to renew their license every two years on even-numbered years.  Failure to renew your license with IDFPR by the deadline will result in an invalid license and possible sanctions.

Broker license renewal requirements

Your license renewal requirements are determined by the date you were first licensed. Select the time period in which you were first licensed below:

  • If you were first licensed BEFORE February 1, 2016

    If you were first licensed BEFORE February 1, 2016, your license renewal requirement is 30 CE hours before April 30, 2018.

    The 30 CE hours must consist of one 15-hour Broker Post-License Topics course and one 15-hour Broker Post-License Applied Real Estate Practices course.

    Select a 15-hour Broker Post-License Topics course:


    Select a 15-hour Broker Post-License Interactive Applied Real Estate Practices:

  • If you were first licensed AFTER Feb 1, 2016 (but before Feb. 1, 2018)

    If you were first licensed AFTER February 1, 2016, your license renewal requirement is 12 CE hours before April 30, 2018, with the following stipulations:

    • A minimum of 3 hours must be Core A CE
    • A minimum of 3 hours must be Core B CE.
    • A maximum of 6 hours may be Elective CE.
    • Core hours will count toward the Elective requirement, but Elective courses will not count toward the Core requirement.
    • Credit hours for the same course cannot be repeated within the same cycle.

    Select a CE Course

  • If you were first licensed AFTER February 1, 2018

    If you are a broker who was licensed AFTER February 1, 2018, you will not need to take CE or renew your license by April 30, 2018.

    Your first renewal date will be April 30, 2020. 

    Check your license issued to you by the Illinois Department of Professional Regulation for your license expiration date. 

How to find your original license date

Find your license date on IDFPR License Look Up or call 1-800-560-6420.

How to look up the number of CE hours you have completed 


Managing broker

Managing brokers are required to renew their license every two years on odd numbered years. Failure to renew your license with IDFPR by the deadline will result in an invalid license and possible sanctions. Thge next Managing broker renewal deadline is April 30, 2018.

Managing broker license renewal requirements

Your license renewal requirements are determined by the date you were first licensed.

  • If you were first licensed BEFORE Feb. 1, 2015

    If you are a managing broker who was first licensed BEFORE February 1, 2015:

    You are required to complete 24 hours of CE between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2017. The CE  must include:

    • 3 hours Core A
    • 3 hours Core B
    • 12-hour Broker Management CE Course (mandatory interactive course)

    Submit your renewal application and state licensing fee to Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation (IDFPR) by April 30, 2017. 

  • If you were first licensed AFTER Feb. 1, 2015 (but before Feb. 1, 2017)

    If you are a managing broker who was first licensed after February 1, 2015, this will be your first license renewal as a Managing Broker.

    You are required to complete 12 hours of CE between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2017. The CE must include:

    • 3 hours Core A
    • 3 hours Core B
    • 6 hours Elective (max.)

    Submit your renewal application and state licensing fee to Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation (IDFPR) by April 30, 2017. 

  • If you were first licensed AFTER Feb. 1, 2017

    If you were licensed after February 1, 2017 you do NOT need to renew your license in 2017.

    Your first renewal deadline is April 30, 2019

    Check your license issued to you by the Illinois Department of Professional Regulation for your license expiration date. 

  • Managing broker renewal Q & A

    Q: What if I have too many Core CE hours and not enough Elective?

    A. Your Core hours will count towards Elective CE hours, however elective hours do not count towards your Core requirement. Keep in mind that credit hours for the same course cannot be repeated within the same cycle.


    Q: I’m from another state, what do I need to do to be a Managing Broker?

    A.  Review IDFPR’s Reciprocity Application for Licensure Under the Real Estate License Act www.idfpr.com/DPR/RE/Forms/recip.pdf


    Q: I’m a licensed attorney in good standing in the State of Illinois. What do I need
    to do to renew as a managing broker?

    A. You will just be required to complete the renewal forms and pay the license renewal fees required by IDFPR. You are EXEMPT from all education including the Broker Management CE.

    Q: How can I find out what continuing education hours I already have?

    A.
    Use the Illinois REALTORS® Education Lookup to check education credits for courses taken and passed through the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing and Training Center.

    Use IDFPR's CE lookup to check continuing education credits for other courses. 

    Q: Why can’t I find my CE hours on your website?

    A. If you took your CE through a provider other than the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing and Training Center or your local association, your CE will not be reflected in the Education Lookup. You will need to contact the other school directly for your records.


    Q: If my license is in a “holding company” do I still need CE?

    A. Yes. Your “holding company” is your sponsoring broker so you hold an active sponsored real estate license. You are, thus, subject to CE requirements.


    Q. What if I no longer want to hold a managing broker license and transfer to a broker license?

    A.  The Real Estate Administrative Rules state that a Managing Broker may transfer their license by
    completing a form and all continuing education requirements as follows:

    • The Managing Broker must have an active managing broker license
    • If the Managing Broker transfers their license in the first year of renewal (May 1, 2015 - April 30, 2016), they would be required to take 6 hours of CE (3 hours of core CE and 3 hours of elective)
    • If the Managing Broker transfers in their second year of renewal (May 1, 2016 - April 30, 2017), they are required to take 12 hours of CE (6 hours of Core A & B and 6 hours of elective CE).
    • The Managing Broker would need to complete the Managing Broker to Broker Transfer Application and pay all renewal fees

Leasing agent

Leasing agents are required to renew their license every two years on even numbered years. Failure to renew your license with IDFPR by the deadline will result in an invalid license and possible sanctions. The next leasing agent renewal deadline is July 31, 2018


Instructor

The state of Illinois requires real estate instructors to renew their license every two years. Failure to renew your license with IDFPR by the deadline will result in an invalid license and possible sanctions.

Renewal Requirements

Instructors must have completed the required Continued Education (CE) coursework and applied for license renewal through the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) by *****.

  • If you were licensed BEFORE ***

    Instructors licensed before ** must complete 6 hours of CE before July 31, 2018.

     

    Enroll in a CE course for instructor license renewal

  • If you were licensed AFTER *

    Instructors licensed after ** do not need to complete CE for this renewal cycle. If you were licensed after **, your first renewal deadline will be July 31, 2020.